Yidishe Folks Shuln


[photo Jack Goldsmith, 2006 – Musée du Montréal juif]

5210 Waverly Street [photo Jack Goldsmith, 2006 – Museum of Jewish Montreal]

Between 1924 and 1941, the residence located at 5201 Waverly housed the Yidishe Folks Shuln (Jewish People’s Schools), at a time when Mile End was the heart of Jewish life in Montreal. The school was led by socialist activists who sought to provide a secular alternative to the religious education offered by Talmudic schools. The Yidishe Folks Shuln emphasized social justice, Yiddish culture and Zionism, considered the essential values of the Jewish identity. It was so successful that a new building, located across the street at 5210 Waverly, was constructed in 1941 to house the school. Today, that building is part of College Français.


Established in 1920 on Saint-Urbain Street, at the corner of Saint-Cuthbert, and continuing there until 1952, Jewish People’s Schools opened a branch in what was previously a private home on Waverly Street, at the northeast corner of Fairmount Avenue, in 1924. The location was not random: it was adjacent to Fairmount School, an elementary school of the Protestant School Board. Although more than 80% of the pupils at that school were of Jewish origin, almost all the teachers and administrators were Protestants. Once the children had finished their day at the Protestant school, they went to the Folks Shuln to study Hebrew, Yiddish, and Jewish history and culture. Starting in 1929, the Folks Shuln also offered full-time education.

The school was such a success that in July 1940 it was decided to construct a new, larger building. Work began in September and the new building, designed by architect Max Kalman and located across the street at 5210 Waverly, opened in September 1941. This very short construction period, especially in the context of the Second World War, can be explained by the fact that Montreal’s entire Jewish community mobilized for the effort, presented as a response to Nazi barbarism. The former residence continued to play an educational role until 1964, housing a religious school for girls, Beth Jacob, founded by Holocaust survivors.

Several thousand people attended the groundbreaking ceremony for the new building on October 27, 1940. Canadian Jewish Chronicle, November 1, 1940.

Several thousand people attended the groundbreaking ceremony for the new building on October 27, 1940. Canadian Jewish Chronicle, November 1, 1940.

The Jewish People’s Schools followed the post-war migration toward the new suburbs: the institution moved to Côte-des-Neiges (5170 Van Horne Avenue) in 1955. It still exists, under the name Jewish People’s & Peretz Schools (JPPS), after having merged with another progressive institution, the Peretz Schools, in 1971. (Since 2016 it has consolidated to a single campus in Côte-Saint-Luc.) The Waverly Street property was occupied by a yeshiva (a religious school for boys), Merkaz Hatorah, from 1957 to 1971. Collège Français, the current occupant, purchased the building in February 1972.

 

[Research and writing: Yves Desjardins (2016). English translation: Joshua Wolfe (2020)]

Yidishe Folks Shuln


[photo Jack Goldsmith, 2006 – Musée du Montréal juif]

[photo Jack Goldsmith, 2006 – Musée du Montréal juif]

La résidence située au 5201 rue Waverly a abrité entre 1924 et 1941 les Yidishe Folks Shuln (Écoles juives populaires), à une époque où le Mile End se situait au cœur de la vie juive montréalaise. L’école était animée par des militants socialistes qui voulaient offrir une alternative laïque à l’enseignement religieux des écoles talmudiques. Elle met l’accent sur la justice sociale, la culture yiddish et le sionisme, perçus comme valeurs essentielles de l’identité juive. Le succès est tel qu’un nouvel édifice, situé juste en face au 5210 Waverly, est construit en 1941 pour abriter l’école. C’est aujourd’hui un pavillon du Collège français.


Établie sur la rue Saint-Urbain, au coin de Saint-Cuthbert entre 1920 et 1952, l’école ouvre en 1924 une succursale dans une ancienne résidence privée de la rue Waverly, au coin nord-est de l’avenue Fairmount. Ce choix n’est pas le fruit du hasard : juste à côté se trouve l’école primaire Fairmount, administrée par la Commission scolaire protestante. Même si plus de 80% des élèves qui la fréquentent sont d’origine juive, presque tous les enseignants et la direction sont protestants. Lorsque les enfants ont terminé leur journée à l’école protestante, ils se rendent aux Folks Shuln pour suivre des cours d’hébreu, de yiddish, ainsi que sur l’histoire et la culture juive. À partir de 1929, l’école offre aussi un enseignement à temps plein.

Le succès est tel qu’on décide de construire un édifice neuf pour abriter l’école, en juillet 1940. Les travaux commencent dès le mois de septembre et le nouvel édifice, conçu par l’architecte Max Kalman et situé juste en face au 5210 rue Waverly, ouvre ses portes pour la rentrée de septembre 1941. Cet intervalle très court, surtout dans le contexte de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, s’explique par le fait que toute communauté juive montréalaise s’est mobilisée : ériger cette nouvelle école est présenté comme une réponse à la barbarie nazie. Quant à l’ancienne résidence, elle hébergera jusqu’en 1964 l’école religieuse pour filles Beth Jacob, fondée par des survivants de l’holocauste.

Plusieurs milliers de personnes ont assisté à la cérémonie de la première pelletée de terre pour le nouvel édifice, le 27 octobre 1940. Canadian Jewish Chronicle, 1er novembre 1940.

Plusieurs milliers de personnes ont assisté à la cérémonie de la première pelletée de terre pour le nouvel édifice, le 27 octobre 1940. Canadian Jewish Chronicle, 1er novembre 1940.

Les Écoles juives populaires suivent la migration d’après-guerre vers les nouvelles banlieues : l’institution déménage à Snowdon, avenue Van Horne, en 1955. Elle y existe toujours, sous le nom de Jewish People’s & Peretz Schools (JPPS), après avoir fusionné avec une autre école progressiste, Peretz, en 1971. L’immeuble de la rue Waverly est alors occupé par un collège talmudique, Merkaz Hatorah, de 1957 à 1971. Le Collège français, l’actuel occupant, l’achète en février 1972.

 

[Recherche et rédaction : Yves Desjardins]