Park Avenue YMCA


YMCA, succursale du Nord – quartier Annex [Musée McCord, MP-0000.841.7]

Y.M.C.A. North [End] Branch – Annex, Montreal; postcard, ca. 1915 [Musée McCord, MP-0000.841.7]

The YMCA has not always been located at the corner of Park Avenue and Saint-Viateur Street. Long a major presence in central Montreal, the Y opened a branch in the Fairmount Hall building (on the northeast corner of Fairmount Avenue and Jeanne-Mance Street) in 1909. In 1912, in response to a growing demand for its services, it moved into a new building on the northwest corner of Park Avenue and Saint-Viateur Street. That structure was replaced by the current building in 1994.

The evolution of the YMCA in the neighbourhood reflects the changes that Mile End has witnessed over a century. The organization’s capacity to adapt to the social realities of the neighbourhood is one of the reasons for its success. Mile End residents are very attached to their YMCA. It is seen as an essential neighbourhood institution. But its continued presence in the district has been threatened several times. Like many other stories embodying the spirit of Mile End, the story of the YMCA is one of citizen mobilization.


In 1844, George Williams, a young man of just 22, was working in London for a clothes merchant. Appalled by the terrible living conditions of young workers in London, he created the Young Men’s Christian Association. He wanted to offer young men a place for socializing, far away from the unhealthful temptations of the city, so that they could develop a healthy balance between body, mind and spirit. Other such centres were rapidly established elsewhere in Europe. The first YMCA in North America was founded in Montreal on November 25, 1851, on Sainte-Hélène Street near rue des Récollets.

YMCA missionaries had been working in what is now the Mile End district since 1876. At first, they held meetings in private homes. In 1901, they rented a space on Saint-Viateur Street. Six years later, the organization had a hundred members, all anglophone Protestants. Residents of Montreal Annex, the western part of today’s Mile End, which was then a middle-class neighbourhood, signed a petition asking for the creation of a true YMCA branch in their district. In early 1909, the Fairmount Branch of the YMCA moved into the second floor of a new building, Fairmount Hall (1907) on the northeast corner of Fairmount Avenue and Jeanne-Mance Street. Shops occupied the ground floor, while the upper storey housed a gymnasium and meeting rooms. One of the latter, the Lodge Room was particularly luxurious: olive-green walls, a ceiling decorated with a Louis XVI-style frieze, antique oak moulding and walls covered in burlap tinted to imitate red Moroccan leather. The Empire-style fireplace mantel was framed by Corinthian columns.

The facilities quickly grew too small for all activities. In 1912, the YMCA moved into a new building, constructed at a cost of $100,000, on the northwest corner of Park Avenue and Saint-Viateur Street. It was given the name “North End Branch YMCA”. In addition to a gymnasium and meeting rooms, it now offered a library, bowling alley, swimming pool and billiard room. The new building also included rooms to house young unmarried men, often recent immigrants from Great Britain. To become a member of the YMCA, one had to be over 17, provide references and pay a monthly subscription of $10, a considerable sum at the time. These requirements reflected the standards of the neighbourhood where the YMCA was located.

The YMCA evolved rapidly and adapted to social changes and events. During the 1920s and 30s, it quickly gave up its missionary vocation and no longer catered solely to young Protestant men. Sports took up more and more of its space. Activities for both men and women – in particular dances – were permitted beginning in 1927. Like its Jewish counterpart, the Young Men’s Hebrew Association (located at Mont-Royal Avenue and Jeanne-Mance Street), the neighbourhood YMCA became a military community centre during the Second World War. Here soldiers were lodged and entertained prior to being sent overseas. A woman’s committee became quite active, including organizing weekly dances. However, after the war, participation dropped dramatically, as the English-speaking middle class moved to the suburbs.

In 1950, YMCA leaders decided to close the North End Branch and use the building to house its international division, at the time located downtown. The decision was the subject of strong debate within the board of directors. Opponents to the idea felt that the YMCA should no longer be active in a neighbourhood then dominated by the Jewish community. But supporters of the move argued that with the strong immigration after the Second World War, the North End was increasingly becoming a multi-ethnic neighbourhood. English language and Canadian citizenship classes for New Canadians became the new raison d’être for the Park Avenue Y. French classes were added in 1963. By 1966, the YMCA was welcoming almost 1300 students, distributed among 30 classes.

In 1967, the YMCA shifted to more activist, community action: “We have to get out of the building, where we are isolated from residents, we have to get into the real life of the local community.” This decision followed a study demonstrating that Mile End had become one of Montreal’s most disadvantaged neighbourhoods, with a strong immigrant population, primarily Greek, left to its own devices. Thanks to federal funding, the YMCA launched the Mile End West Project: social workers were hired to help immigrants organize their own community groups. These included the Hellenic Canadian Labor Association and the Hellenic Federation of Parents and Guardians of Greater Montreal.

From the 1970s to the 1990s, the YMCA continued its community actions, in particular with local youth. In 1975, the third floor was used for classes of a new alternative high school created by the Protestant School Board, known as MIND (acronym for Moving in New Directions). The school now shares the Bancroft School building at 4563 Saint-Urbain. In July 1977, the YMCA converted its parking lot on the north side of the building into a community park and outdoor café. The park, named Parasol, was also used for a day camp. It was the result of an initiative of neighbourhood citizens. The YMCA also supported the Mile End Citizens’ Committee, created in 1982. The committee played a major role in organizing Saint-Jean-Baptiste celebrations in Mile End from 1986 to 1998. The street festival, held annually on a Saint-Viateur Street closed to traffic, helped enhance the image of Mile End as a multi-ethnic neighbourhood rich in cultural diversity.

But the building, considered outdated, was put up for sale in 1989. YMCA leaders planned to construct a new building further north on Park Avenue at Jean-Talon, in particular to move closer to the Greek community, most of whose members had migrated to Park Extension and further north. The citizens’ committee mobilized. The Park Avenue YMCA was finally saved in fall 1993, thanks to a partnership agreement between the YMCA and the City of Montreal. The latter provided a subsidy for the construction of a new building on the site of the old one, at a cost of $7 million. In exchange, the YMCA offered a discount rate for local residents for its recreational activities, and free use of its swimming pool, since the Saint-Michel public pool had recently closed. Actions by the citizens’ committee were credited with convincing the city and the Y to establish this partnership.


See also
Parc Parasol

 

[Research and writing: Yves Desjardins et Christine Richard (2016) – Translation: Joshua Wolfe (2020) – Revision: Justin Bur]

YMCA du Parc


YMCA, succursale du Nord – quartier Annex [Musée McCord, MP-0000.841.7]

YMCA, succursale du Nord – quartier Annex; carte postale, vers 1915 [Musée McCord, MP-0000.841.7]

Le YMCA n’a pas toujours eu ses locaux au croisement de l’avenue du Parc et de la rue Saint-Viateur. Depuis longtemps présent au centre de Montréal, le YMCA ouvre une succursale dans l’édifice Fairmount Hall, à l’angle nord-est de l’avenue Fairmount et de la rue Jeanne-Mance en 1909. En 1912, afin de répondre à la demande croissante pour ses services, il emménage dans un nouvel édifice à l’angle nord-ouest de l’avenue du Parc et de la rue Saint-Viateur. Cet édifice est remplacé en 1993 par le bâtiment actuel.

L’évolution du YMCA dans le quartier reflète les changements qu’a connus le Mile End en un siècle. La capacité d’adaptation de l’organisme aux réalités sociales du quartier est une des raisons de son succès. Les résidents du quartier Mile End sont, en effet, très attachés à leur YMCA. Il est perçu comme une institution essentielle du quartier. Mais sa présence dans le quartier a été à plusieurs reprises menacée. Comme de nombreuses histoires qui font l’esprit du Mile End, celle du YMCA est une histoire de mobilisation citoyenne.

 


En 1844, Georges Williams, jeune homme de 22 ans employé à Londres chez un marchand de tissu, effrayé par les conditions de vie des jeunes ouvriers londoniens, fonde à Londres la Young Men’s Christian Association. Il souhaite offrir aux jeunes gens un lieu de socialisation loin des tentations malsaines de la ville pour leur permettre de développer un sain équilibre entre le corps, l’intellect et l’esprit. Rapidement, d’autres associations fleurissent en Europe. Le premier YMCA en Amérique du nord ouvre à Montréal le 25 novembre 1851, à l’intersection des rues des Récollets et Sainte-Hélène.

Des missionnaires du YMCA sont actifs dans ce qui est aujourd’hui le Mile End depuis 1876. Ils tiennent d’abord leurs réunions dans des résidences privées. En 1901, ils louent un local sur la rue Saint-Viateur. En 1907, l’organisme compte une centaine de membres, tous anglophones et protestants. Les résidents de la Montreal Annex, partie ouest de l’actuel Mile End et alors quartier bourgeois, signent une pétition demandant l’ouverture d’une succursale en bonne et due forme dans leur quartier. Au début de 1909, la Fairmount Branch du YMCA emménage au deuxième étage d’un nouvel édifice, Fairmount Hall (1907), au coin nord-est de l’intersection Fairmount et Jeanne-Mance. Des boutiques occupent le rez-de-chaussée, tandis que l’étage accueille un gymnase et des salles de réunion. L’une d’elles, la Lodge Room est particulièrement luxueuse : elle est décorée d’une frise de style Louis XVI au plafond, de moulures de chêne antique et les murs sont peints vert olive et tendu d’une toile de jute qui imite le cuir rouge marocain. Le manteau de cheminée de style Empire est orné de colonnes corinthiennes.

Rapidement, ces installations ne répondent plus à la demande. En 1912, le YMCA déménage dans un nouvel édifice, construit au coût de 100 000 dollars et situé à l’angle nord-ouest de l’avenue du Parc et de la rue Saint-Viateur. Il est désormais connu sous le nom de « North End Branch YMCA ». Il offre, en plus du gymnase et des salles de réunion, une bibliothèque, une allée de quilles, une piscine et une salle de billard. La nouvelle bâtisse abrite également des chambres pour jeunes célibataires, souvent des immigrants récemment arrivés de Grande-Bretagne. Pour devenir membre du YMCA, il faut avoir plus de 17 ans, être en mesure de fournir des références et payer une cotisation mensuelle de 10 $, une somme élevée pour l’époque. Ces exigences reflètent les standards du quartier où le YMCA est implanté.

Le YMCA évolue rapidement et s’adapte aux changements sociaux et aux événements. Ainsi, au cours des années 1920-1940, il perd rapidement sa vocation missionnaire et ne s’adresse plus exclusivement aux jeunes hommes protestants. Le sport y tient une place de plus en plus grande. Les activités mixtes – en particulier la danse – sont autorisées à partir de 1927. Comme son homologue juif, la Young Men’s Hebrew Association (à l’intersection de Mont-Royal et Jeanne-Mance), le YMCA du quartier se transforme en un centre communautaire militaire lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. On y héberge et divertit les soldats avant qu’ils ne soient envoyés outre-mer. Un comité féminin y est particulièrement actif, notamment en organisant des danses hebdomadaires. Mais après la guerre, les effectifs baissent dramatiquement en raison du départ de la classe moyenne anglophone vers les banlieues.

La direction du YMCA décide donc, en 1950, de fermer la North End Branch et d’y déménager la division internationale alors située au centre-ville. La décision fait l’objet d’un vif débat au conseil d’administration. En effet, les opposants à cette décision estiment que le YMCA n’a plus sa place dans un quartier dominé par la communauté juive. Mais les partisans du déménagement soutiennent qu’avec la forte immigration de l’après-guerre, le North End est de plus en plus un quartier multi-ethnique. Les cours d’anglais et de citoyenneté canadienne pour les nouveaux arrivants deviennent donc la nouvelle raison d’être du YMCA de l’avenue du Parc. Les cours de français sont ajoutés en 1963. En 1966, le YMCA accueille près de 1300 étudiants, répartis dans 30 classes.

En 1967, le YMCA prend un virage vers l’action communautaire et militante : « nous devons sortir de l’édifice, où nous sommes isolés de la population et pénétrer dans la vie réelle de la communauté locale. ». Cette décision suit une étude qui constate que le Mile End est devenu l’un des quartiers les plus défavorisés à Montréal, avec une forte population immigrante, surtout grecque, laissée à elle-même. Grâce à l’obtention de fonds fédéraux, le YMCA lance alors le « Mile End West Project » : des travailleurs sociaux sont embauchés pour aider les immigrants à organiser leurs propres groupes communautaires. L’Association des travailleurs grecs et la Fédération hellénique des parents et tuteurs sont créées dans ce cadre.

Pendant les années 1970–1990, le YMCA poursuit son action communautaire, particulièrement auprès des jeunes du quartier. En 1975, le troisième étage héberge les salles de la classe de la nouvelle école secondaire alternative de la Commission scolaire protestante, connue par la suite sous l’acronyme MIND (Moving in New Directions). Elle se trouve aujourd’hui au 4563, rue Saint-Urbain. En juillet 1977, le YMCA transforme son stationnement, adjacent à l’édifice, en parc communautaire et en café-terrasse. Le parc, nommé Parasol, sert également de camp de jour. Il est le fruit de l’initiative de citoyens du quartier. Le YMCA soutient aussi le nouveau Comité des citoyens du Mile End, créé en 1982. Celui-ci joue alors un rôle important dans l’organisation de la Saint-Jean du Mile End, entre 1986 et 1998. Fête de rue très populaire tenue sur la rue Saint-Viateur, fermée pour l’occasion, elle contribue à valoriser l’image du Mile End comme un quartier multiethnique riche de sa diversité.

Mais l’édifice, jugé vétuste, est mis en vente en 1989. La direction du YMCA envisage la construction d’un nouvel édifice au coin des avenues Jean-Talon et Du Parc, notamment pour se rapprocher de la communauté grecque qui migre alors vers Parc Extension. Le Comité des citoyens se mobilise. Le YMCA de l’avenue du Parc est finalement sauvé à l’automne 1993 grâce à une entente de partenariat entre le YMCA et la ville de Montréal. Celle-ci subventionne la construction d’un nouvel édifice à l’emplacement de l’ancien, au coût de sept millions de dollars. En échange, le YMCA offre à tarif préférentiel ses services de loisirs aux résidents du quartier – gratuitement pour la piscine ; la piscine Saint-Michel venait de fermer ses portes. L’action du Comité des citoyens est créditée pour avoir convaincu la ville et le YMCA de mettre sur pied ce partenariat.


Voir aussi
Parc Parasol

 

[Recherche et rédaction : Yves Desjardins et Christine Richard]