Who are we?


Mile End Memories is both a historical society and an active community group. We provide keys to understanding the past so that people may become better informed and involved actors in their community. In addition to our historical work, we also host discussions with people involved in current issues such as access to housing, preserving space for artists’ workshops, appreciation of architectural heritage, and the celebration of cultural diversity.

For the past 15 years, we have offered a program of walking tours each summer – including our popular exploration of private gardens – and each winter a series of monthly talks at the Mordecai Richler Mile End Library on a variety of themes. Our original research on the history of the neighbourhood feeds into talks, tours, and this web site, with its interactive map where one can discover the histories of many buildings. Two books published in 2017 (in French) incorporated our research: Histoire du Mile End by Yves Desjardins (Septentrion), and Dictionnaire historique du Plateau-Mont-Royal by Justin Bur, Yves Desjardins, Jean-Claude Robert, Bernard Vallée, and Joshua Wolfe (Écosociété).

We frequently work with our colleagues at the Société d’histoire du Plateau-Mont-Royal and other community groups such as the Comité des citoyens du Mile End and Amis du Champ des possibles; we participate in Jane’s WalksJournées de la Culture, Festival Phénomena, Mile End en fleurs, and the Marché des Possibles. With partners, we organized two events for the celebrations of Montreal’s 375th anniversary, Viaduc 375 and a series of 25 walking tours on the Plateau. The library is not only our event venue but also a partner in literary events such as the Historical and Literary Tour (first offered during Blue Metropolis in 2015) and the Human Library, a day of oral history exchanges held in 2013 and 2015.

In November 2018, the MNA for Mercier, Ruba Ghazal, awarded a Medal of the National Assembly to Mile End Memories for the organization’s efforts in enhancing our collective memory.


Mile End is one of the neighbourhoods synonymous with Montreal’s diversity and creativity. The area has evolved and changed ceaselessly throughout its two centuries of history; you could say that the only constant thing over time has been change itself. Known at the beginning of the 19th century for its limestone quarries that built the greystone façades of the great buildings of Old Montreal, Mile End was a place to stop for a drink at the tavern by 1810 and to watch the horse races. The first church, Saint-Enfant-Jésus, was inaugurated at Christmas 1858. The railway that cuts across the area was opened in 1876, including of course a Mile End station. The village of Saint-Louis-du-Mile-End was incorporated in 1878, became the town of Saint-Louis in 1895, and merged with the city of Montreal on 1 January 1910.

A district of small modest houses but also of great mansions for the wealthy, site of a huge exhibition grounds, of major clothing factories, piano works, streetcar shops and woodlots, early 20th-century Mile End was a dynamic and varied place. Already shared between francophones and anglophones, Catholics and Protestants, the neighborhood became the heart of the Montreal Jewish community for about 30 years before becoming home to new Montrealers of many origins, Italian, Greek, Portuguese and others. It has always benefited from the lively traffic of Saint-Laurent Boulevard, Montreal’s (and Mile End’s) “Main”, designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1996. After a downturn in the 1960s and 70s, the neighbourhood picked itself up to become a harmonious, original, artistic, musical, friendly and energetic place, at home in the heart of the metropolis of Montreal.


Partner of the Laboratoire d’histoire et de patrimoine de Montréal (UQAM)

Member of the Fédération des sociétés d’histoire du Québec

Member of the Quebec Anglophone Heritage Network


Mile End Memories was founded in 2003 as an association; among the founders were Susan Bronson, Janis Zubalik, and Aldo Marchini. In 2011 it was incorporated as a non-profit organization.

The current directors are a small group of avid Mile Enders having a variety of backgrounds: urban planning, architecture, history, journalism, literature, philosophy and teaching. In 2018–2019, the directors are Justin Bur, Yves Desjardins, Melanie Groh, Melanie Leavitt, Alice Miquet, Nathalie Tremblay, and Joshua Wolfe.

Major revisions of this page: January 2015; November 2018.

Qui sommes-nous ?


Mémoire du Mile End est une société d’histoire locale engagée. Nous offrons au public des clés de lecture du passé pour mieux s’impliquer aujourd’hui dans la vie du quartier. En complément de nos travaux sur l’histoire du quartier, nous animons des discussions avec des acteurs impliqués dans les enjeux actuels comme l’accès au logement, la conservation des ateliers d’artistes, la mise en valeur du patrimoine architectural, et la promotion de la diversité culturelle.

Depuis déjà 15 ans, nous offrons chaque été une programmation de visites commentées à pied – dont notre populaire tournée de jardins privés – et chaque hiver une série de conférences mensuelles à la Bibliothèque Mordecai-Richler, quartier du Mile End sur une variété de thèmes. Nos recherches originales sur l’histoire du quartier alimentent les conférences, les visites, et ce site web, avec sa carte interactive permettant de découvrir les histoires de nombreux édifices. En 2017 ont paru deux livres intégrant nos recherches, Histoire du Mile End d’Yves Desjardins (Septentrion) et le Dictionnaire historique du Plateau-Mont-Royal, par Justin Bur, Yves Desjardins, Jean-Claude Robert, Bernard Vallée, et Joshua Wolfe (Écosociété).

Nous collaborons souvent avec nos collègues de la Société d’histoire du Plateau-Mont-Royal et avec d’autres groupes communautaires comme le Comité des citoyens du Mile End et les Amis du Champ des possibles; et nous sommes présents aux Promenades de Jane, aux Journées de la Culture, au Festival Phénomena, à Mile End en fleurs, et au Marché des Possibles. En collaboration, nous avons organisé deux événements lors des Fêtes du 375e de Montréal, Viaduc 375 et une série de 25 visites à pied sur le Plateau. La bibliothèque n’est pas seulement notre salle de conférences mais aussi un partenaire pour des activités littéraires comme la Visite historique et littéraire (inaugurée lors du festival Métropolis bleu en 2015) et la Bibliothèque vivante – une journée d’échanges d’histoire orale tenue en 2013 et 2015.

En novembre 2018, la députée de Mercier, Ruba Ghazal, a décerné à Mémoire du Mile End une Médaille de l’Assemblée nationale en reconnaissance de son engagement à nourrir notre mémoire collective.


Le Mile End est l’un des quartiers emblématiques de la diversité et de la créativité montréalaise. Au cours de ses deux cents ans d’histoire, ce secteur s’est renouvelé sans cesse. On peut dire que la seule constante dans son histoire, c’est le changement. Connu au début du 19e siècle pour ses carrières de pierre grise utilisée dans la construction des grands édifices du Vieux-Montréal, le Mile End est un endroit pour prendre un verre à l’auberge dès 1810 et pour assister aux courses de chevaux. La première église, celle de Saint-Enfant-Jésus, est inaugurée à Noël 1858. Le chemin de fer qui traverse le secteur est ouvert en 1876, bien sûr avec une gare du Mile End. Le village de Saint-Louis-du-Mile-End est incorporé en 1878, devient ville Saint-Louis en 1895, et fusionne avec Montréal le 1er janvier 1910.

Quartier de petites maisons ouvrières autant que de grandes demeures bourgeoises, d’un vaste terrain des expositions, d’importantes usines de confection de vêtements ou de fabrication de pianos, d’ateliers de tramways et de cours à bois, le Mile End du début du 20e siècle est un lieu dynamique et varié. Déjà partagé entre francophones et anglophones, catholiques et protestants, le quartier devient le haut lieu de la communauté juive montréalaise pendant une trentaine d’années avant d’être habité par les Montréalais d’origine italienne, grecque, portugaise et autres. Il est alimenté par le boulevard Saint-Laurent, la Main de Montréal et du Mile End, reconnu lieu historique national du Canada depuis 1996. Après une période difficile dans les années 1960 et 1970, le quartier s’est repris en main pour devenir un milieu de vie harmonieux, insolite, artistique, musical, convivial, énergique, à l’image de la grande ville de Montréal.


Partenaire du Laboratoire d’histoire et de patrimoine de Montréal (UQAM)

Membre de la Fédération des sociétés d’histoire du Québec

Membre du Réseau du patrimoine anglophone du Québec


Mémoire du Mile End a été fondée en 2003 comme association; parmi les fondateurs étaient Susan Bronson, Janis Zubalik, et Aldo Marchini. En 2011 a eu lieu son incorporation comme organisme à but non lucratif.

Les administrateurs actuels sont un petit groupe de passionnés du quartier ayant une variété de formations : urbanisme, architecture, histoire, journalisme, littérature, philosophie et enseignement. En 2018–2019, les administrateurs sont Justin Bur, Yves Desjardins, Melanie Groh, Melanie Leavitt, Alice Miquet, Nathalie Tremblay, et Joshua Wolfe.

Révisions majeures de cette page : janvier 2015; novembre 2018