Journées de la culture 2018: Historical and Literary Tour


Mile End Memories, in collaboration with the Mordecai-Richler Library, presents a new version of its Historical and Literary Tour of Mile End during the Journées de la culture.

Rediscover the neighbourhood with a walking tour featuring historical and literary references to places that have inspired many authors and artists. The walk, led by Mile End Memories, will be followed by a discussion with three authors who have written about Mile End: Myriam Beaudoin, Saleema Nawaz, and Pierre Anctil.

Reservations required: Register by telephone or in person at the library – 514 872-2141.
There will be two groups, one in English and the other in French.

Sunday 30 September 2018, 1:00 to 4:30 pm
Bibliothèque Mordecai-Richler – quartier du Mile End
5434 avenue du Parc, Montreal (near Saint-Viateur, 80 bus)
The walk will follow a loop, departing from and returning to the library. The walk will be followed by a (bilingual) discussion with the three authors and the participants.

The authors

Myriam Beaudoin

Myriam Beaudoin / photo: Martine Doyon

Myriam Beaudoin is a Montreal-based author, born in Sherbrooke. Her years teaching young Jewish girls at the Belz Hassidic school in Outremont inspired her to write Hadassa, published in 2006. Mile End is at the heart of this novel in which two love stories are intertwined, one about a young Québecoise teacher and her Jewish students, the other of the unlikely meeting of an immigrant and a Hassidic woman questioning her society. Hadassa was awarded the Prix des collégiens and the Prix France-Québec.

Myriam Beaudoin holds a master’s in création littéraire from McGill University and will soon be publishing her fourth novel.

 

Saleema Nawaz

Saleema Nawaz / photo: Dallas Curow

Saleema Nawaz is a Montreal-based author, born in Ottawa. In 2008, she published Mother Superior, a collection of short stories, and in 2013, Bone & Bread. The novel describes the intense and complex relationship between two orphaned sisters, Beena and Sadhana. They live in an apartment upstairs from a bagel bakery located in the heart of Mile End. The business belongs to their father, an immigrant from India. After the death of their parents, the bakery is taken over by their uncle, a traditionalist Sikh who finds it very hard to understand his nieces.

Bone & Bread was a finalist in the CBC Canada Reads competition in 2016 and won the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction awarded by the Quebec Writers’ Federation for the best work of fiction published in 2013.

 

Pierre Anctil

Pierre Anctil / photo: Richard-Max Tremblay

Pierre Anctil is a full professor in the History Department of the University of Ottawa. He specializes in the history of immigration to Canada during the first half of the 20th century, in particular that of Montreal’s Jewish community. As a result, he has studied several writers who lived in Mile End or whose works portray the neighbourhood, including poets A. M. Klein and Jacob-Isaac Segal, and writer Mordecai Richler. He translated Lekhaim! by Malka Zipora, which chronicles Hassidic life in Montreal. Pierre Anctil, who also wrote Histoire des Juifs du Québec (Boréal, 2017), received the Louis Rosenberg Distinguished Service Award from the Association for Canadian Jewish Studies in 2015.

Journées de la culture 2018 : Visite historique et littéraire


Mémoire du Mile End, en collaboration avec la bibliothèque Mordecai-Richler, présente une nouvelle version de sa visite historique et littéraire du Mile End dans le cadre des Journées de la culture.

Redécouvrez le quartier le temps d’une balade commentée sur son histoire et ses lieux qui ont inspiré de nombreux auteurs et artistes. La visite sera animée par Mémoire du Mile End et sera suivie d’une discussion avec trois auteurs du quartier : Myriam Beaudoin, Saleema Nawaz, et Pierre Anctil.

Réservation requise : Inscription par téléphone ou en personne à la bibliothèque – 514 872-2141.
Il y aura deux groupes, un en français et l’autre en anglais.

Dimanche 30 septembre 2018, de 13 h à 16 h 30
Bibliothèque Mordecai-Richler – quartier du Mile End
5434 avenue du Parc, Montréal (près de Saint-Viateur, autobus 80)
Le parcours se fera sous forme de boucle, avec départ et retour à la bibliothèque. La visite sera suivie d’une discussion (bilingue) entre les trois auteurs et les participants.

Les auteurs

Myriam Beaudoin

Myriam Beaudoin / photo: Martine Doyon

Myriam Beaudoin est une auteure montréalaise, née à Sherbrooke. Ses années d’enseignement à des jeunes filles juives de l’école hassidique Belz, à Outremont, lui ont servi d’inspiration pour Hadassa, publié en 2006. Le Mile End est au cœur de ce récit où se tissent deux histoires d’amour entrecroisées, celle entre une jeune enseignante et ses élèves juives et celle de l’improbable rencontre entre un immigrant et une femme hassidique en rupture de ban. Hadassa a obtenu le Prix des collégiens et le Prix France-Québec.

Détentrice d’une maîtrise en création littéraire de l’Université McGill, Myriam Beaudoin s’apprête à publier son quatrième roman.

 

Saleema Nawaz

Saleema Nawaz / photo: Dallas Curow

Saleema Nawaz est une auteure montréalaise, née à Ottawa. En 2008, elle a publié Mother Superior, un recueil de nouvelles, et, en 2013, Bone & Bread. Ce roman décrit la relation intense et complexe entre deux sœurs orphelines, Beena et Sadhana. Elles vivent dans un appartement à l’étage d’une boulangerie de bagels située au cœur du Mile End, qui appartient à leur père un immigrant de l’Inde. Après la mort de leurs parents, la boulangerie est reprise par leur oncle, un Sikh traditionaliste, qui a beaucoup de difficultés à comprendre ses nièces.

Bone & Bread a été finaliste au concours « Canada Reads » de la CBC en 2016 et a gagné le Prix Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan, décerné par la Quebec Writers’ Federation pour la meilleure oeuvre de fiction publiée en 2013. Saleema nous a confié avoir très hâte que son livre soit traduit en français !

 

Pierre Anctil

Pierre Anctil / photo: Richard-Max Tremblay

Pierre Anctil est professeur titulaire au Département d’histoire de l’Université d’Ottawa. Il est un spécialiste de l’histoire de l’immigration au Canada dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, en particulier celle de la communauté juive à Montréal. À ce titre, il s’est penché sur plusieurs écrivains ayant vécu dans le Mile End ou encore évoqué le quartier dans leurs œuvres, notamment les poètes A. M. Klein et Jacob-Isaac Segal, ou encore l’écrivain Mordecai Richler. Il a traduit Lekhaim! de Malka Zipora, une chronique de la vie hassidique à Montréal. Pierre Anctil, qui est également l’auteur de l’Histoire des Juifs du Québec (Boréal, 2017), a reçu en 2015 le prix d’excellence Louis-Rosenberg de l’Association canadienne d’études juives.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *