Lux


5220 boul. Saint-Laurent

5220 Saint-Laurent Blvd., January 2018. (photo: Justin Bur)

Lux was an all-night commercial complex – a bar, restaurant, bookstore and tobacco shop all in one. When it opened in the summer of 1984, it quickly became one of the favourite hang-outs of cool Montreal night life. Its owner, Dr. Jean-Marie Labrousse, one of the co-owners of famed restaurant L’Express, commissioned architect Luc Laporte (1942–2012) to design the spaces. A resident of Saint-Louis Square, he also created several other remarkable projects in the Plateau: the Arthur Quentin kitchenware shop and L’Express restaurant on Saint-Denis, Pine Avenue’s Laloux restaurant as well as the restaurant of the Institut de tourisme et d’hôtellerie du Québec.

“Le Lux was a technical masterpiece of steelwork. A veritable ocean liner, with its elliptical flights of stairs and balustrades reminiscent of ship rails, this miniature commercial complex allowed night-owls to go as far as their dreams took them,” wrote journalist Patrice-Hans Perrier in his blog, Les carnets d’un promeneur. The large steel superstructure rising up through three storeys of the building terminated in a glass dome surrounded by mirrors which, during the day, multiplied the sun’s rays.

Lux transformed a building constructed in 1914, which once housed a furniture store on the ground floor and several garment factories above. A Jewish parochial school and a synagogue also briefly occupied the upstairs. But with the departure of most of the Jewish community to west end suburbs, this part of Saint-Laurent Blvd. was abandoned in the 1970s, many of the properties boarded up and empty. The building’s new use in 1984 launched a signal to a group of promoters who named the sector “le village du milieu”. They opened numerous bars, design boutiques and restaurants around Lux. This neglected and dusty part of the Main became a real destination, which also led to a rediscovery of Mile End by Montrealers as well as tourists. As La Presse columnist Pierre Foglia explained (January 10, 1987): “Everyone agrees that it was Lux that launched Saint-Laurent Street between Laurier and Saint Viateur. It also set the vibe. An East Side New York vibe. A nowhere fucké, an old unused factory. Black, grey and white. We’ll get sick of it, for sure. But till then, it’s a change from the pastels of Saint-Denis Street.”

However, this metamorphosis didn’t make everyone happy. Several residents of nearby streets mobilized, in particular under the impetus of the Mile End citizens’ committee. They opposed the multiplication of chic stores, fearing another “disastrous” transformation, their view of the then-recent makeovers of Prince-Arthur Street and Duluth Avenue. Jean Doré, elected mayor in 1986, and his Montreal Citizens’ Movement (MCM or in French, RCM), partially agreed to the residents’ demands, imposing a moratorium on permits for new bars on Saint-Laurent Blvd. north of Mont-Royal.

But it was mainly the recession of the early 1990s that put an end to the developers’ dreams. After a few challenging years, Lux closed its doors for good in March 1996. At the end of that decade, several Montreal newspapers reverted to describing the area as a blighted zone where everything had been abandoned. In fact, at that very time, high-tech companies such as the France-based multinational, Ubisoft, were taking over the deserted spaces of the garment factories in the neighbourhood. Their arrival brought thousands of young workers who kick-started yet another of Saint-Laurent Boulevard’s nine lives. Fly Studio, a film and multimedia production house, has occupied the Lux building since 1998.


Research and writing: Yves Desjardins and Bernard Vallée.
English translation: Joshua Wolfe
Revision: Justin Bur

Dictionnaire historique du Plateau Mont-RoyalExcerpted from the Dictionnaire historique du Plateau Mont-Royal (Écosociété, 2017) with the kind permission of the publisher

Lux


5220 boul. Saint-Laurent

Le 5220 boul. Saint-Laurent, en janvier 2018. (photo Justin Bur)

Le Lux était un complexe ouvert 24 heures sur 24 – à la fois bar, restaurant, librairie et tabagie – considéré comme un des hauts lieux de la vie nocturne montréalaise branchée dès son ouverture à l’été 1984. Son propriétaire, le docteur Jean-Marie Labrousse, l’un des copropriétaires du restaurant l’Express, avait confié à l’architecte Luc Laporte (1942–2012) le mandat d’aménager les lieux. Résidant du square Saint-Louis, celui-ci a aussi réalisé plusieurs projets remarquables sur le Plateau : la boutique Arthur Quentin et le restaurant l’Express rue Saint-Denis, le restaurant Laloux avenue des Pins et le restaurant de l’Institut de tourisme et d’hôtellerie du Québec.

« Le Lux constitue une prouesse en matière de travail sur l’acier. Véritable paquebot, avec ses volées d’escaliers en ellipse et ses balustrades qui faisaient penser à des bastingages, ce petit complexe commercial aura permis aux noctambules d’aller au bout de leurs rêveries », écrit le journaliste Patrice-Hans Perrier dans le blogue Les carnets d’un promeneur. La grande structure en acier traversant les trois étages de l’immeuble se termine par un dôme vitré entouré de miroirs qui, le jour, multiplient les rayons du soleil.

L’édifice du Lux, construit en 1914, avait abrité un magasin de meubles au rez-de-chaussée ainsi que plusieurs manufactures de vêtements. Une école religieuse juive et une synagogue ont aussi brièvement occupé l’étage. Mais avec le départ de la communauté juive vers les banlieues de l’ouest, cette partie du boulevard Saint-Laurent est à l’abandon pendant les années 1970 : une bonne partie des immeubles y sont barricadés et désaffectés. La nouvelle vocation de l’édifice sert de signal à un groupe de promoteurs qui baptisent le secteur « village du milieu ». Ils ouvrent aux alentours du Lux de nombreux bars, boutiques de design et restaurants. Cette partie de la Main, négligée et poussiéreuse, devient alors une destination en elle-même, ce qui contribue à faire redécouvrir le Mile End aux Montréalais comme aux touristes. Le chroniqueur de La Presse, Pierre Foglia, en témoigne (10 janvier 1987) : « Tout le monde reconnaît que c’est le Lux qui a tout déclenché sur la rue Saint-Laurent entre Laurier et Saint-Viateur. Qui a donné le ton aussi. Le ton New York East Side. Le ton nowhere fucké, vieille usine désaffectée. Le ton noir, blanc et gris. On va s’en tanner c’est sûr. Mais en attendant ça nous change des pastels de la rue Saint-Denis. »

Cette transformation ne fait cependant pas l’affaire de tous. Plusieurs résidants des rues voisines se mobilisent, notamment sous l’impulsion du Comité des citoyens du Mile End. Ils s’opposent à la multiplication des commerces chics, craignant de revivre les « désastres » que furent selon eux les transformations des rues Prince-Arthur et Duluth. L’administration Doré du Rassemblement des citoyens de Montréal (RCM), arrivée à la mairie en 1986, se rend en partie à leurs demandes, en imposant un moratoire sur les permis pour les nouveaux bars du boulevard Saint-Laurent au nord de l’avenue du Mont-Royal.

Mais c’est surtout la récession du début des années 1990 qui met fin aux rêves des promoteurs. Après quelques années maigres, le Lux ferme définitivement en mars 1996. À la fin de cette décennie, plusieurs journaux montréalais décrivent de nouveau le secteur comme une « zone sinistrée » où tout est à l’abandon. Au même moment, pourtant, des entreprises de technologie, telle la multinationale française Ubisoft, prennent le relais dans les manufactures de vêtements désaffectées des environs. Leur arrivée et celle des milliers de jeunes employés contribueront à une autre des sept vies du boulevard Saint-Laurent. Le Lux abrite depuis 1998 un studio de postproduction cinématographique, Fly studio.


Recherche et rédaction : Yves Desjardins et Bernard Vallée.

Dictionnaire historique du Plateau Mont-RoyalExtrait du Dictionnaire historique du Plateau Mont-Royal (Écosociété, 2017) avec l’aimable autorisation de l’éditeur