Chapter 5, The villages of the Plateau and the Villeneuve cousins


The 1880-1910 period begins the decisive transformation of the Mile End: villas, farms, and residences of craftsmen living near their place of work gave way to a new town. The village received town status in 1895, and became a district of Montreal on January 1, 1910. In 1881, three years after the village was incorporated, Saint-Louis still had only 1,537 inhabitants. The explosion occurred after that. Its population increased from 3,500 inhabitants in 1891 to almost 11,000 in 1901 and 37,000 in 1911, making it the fastest growing suburb on the island of Montreal.1

After the church and train station (two keystones of the Beaubien family’s urbanization strategy), a third element contributed decisively to this expansion: the industrial revolution, not only because of its huge demand for labour, but also because it led to the emergence of a new middle class, comprised of skilled workers and white-collar employees. This up-and-coming portion of the population was the target of choice for the developers of the new suburbs. But for things to fall into place, something extra was needed: development of efficient transit, in the form of the electric streetcar. Its arrival gave the real estate speculators the signal that times were ripe to create new neighbourhoods. In the case of Plateau Mont-Royal, the electric streetcar was even more necessary, given the geographic obstacle created by the steep grade between Ontario and Sherbrooke streets.

In describing this period of accelerated urbanization—particularly between 1880 and 1910—historians, geographers and urban planners discuss the distinction between the walking city (where most people travelled on foot) and the streetcar suburbs. This transformation of the urban space gave rise to the a new generation of promoters, key players in the development of space, as Paul-André Linteau ably demonstrated in his study of Maisonneuve, a similar district. Men of action, who were often simultaneously speculators, major landowners, entrepreneurs and politicians, the dream of this type of developer was to create an entire town from scratch:

   In contrast to the pure speculator, he was not content to wait for the land values to increase; he caused the increase by helping modify the landscape in which his property was located.(…)

The developer worked to enhance the value of a site. Accessibility was a prime factor. Access was sometimes organic, but more often it needed to be created. The role of transportation was crucial: a railway or streetcar were essential to the success of the developer’s projects….In these circumstances, it is hardly surprising there were strong links between developers and the public transportation companies.2 

Joseph-Octave Villeneuve, grocer, entrepreneur and mayor

In the case of the adjoining villages of Saint-Jean Baptiste and Saint-Louis du Mile End, two cousins played this key role: Joseph-Octave and Leonidas Villeneuve were literally to be their “sponsors”. Joseph-Octave (1836-1901), the older brother, is the better known. He was a “self-made-man” of the American archetype; poorly educated, he started in the retail trade at a young age. On July 12, 1856, Stanley Clark Bagg rented him the Mile End Tavern, located on Sainte-Catherine Road3 on the northwest corner of Saint-Laurent. In return, Joseph-Octave Villeneuve, then only 20 years old, agreed to pay him the sum of £50 per year, as well as £4, 3 shillings and 4 pence per month, and “repair the bowls and install two new gaming tables.” The building was described as a two-storey stone house, with stables, sheds and two gardens.4

The following autumn, on September 8, Stanley Clark Bagg signed a five-year lease with Joseph-Octave for a one-arpent lot fronting Saint-Laurent Street, just across from the tavern (inn) on the southwest corner. In exchange, Villeneuve agreed to construct a building with a 32-foot frontage and an 18-foot depth. It was to be a “good building” to serve as “butchers stalls or grain stores, which he was to possess.” The lease provided for Stanley Clark Bagg’s taking over the buildings if Joseph-Octave reneged on his obligations.5 Stanley Clark Bagg need not have worried, because Villeneuve’s business became a prosperous store:

   J.-Octave Villeneuve started as a “corner grocer” and patiently expanded his business, which became the firm J.-O. Villeneuve & Co. wholesale grocers. To be clear, the wholesale grocery did not sell only to retailers. Its customers included large families, who grouped together in twos or threes and bought their provisions by the sack or the case. The wholesale grocery store was for family patriarchs.6

Joseph-Octave Villeneuve

Joseph-Octave Villeneuve

In 1860, Joseph-Octave got involved in transportation by creating the Mile-End Omnibuses, a shuttle service between Saint-Jean Baptiste and Terrebonne, his family village, promoting commercial links between the two. All these strategies were designed to reinforce the status of the Saint-Laurent/Mont-Royal intersection as a strategic crossroad. As his biographers noted, this was a gamble:

    Villeneuve had established his enterprise in the heart of a village [Saint-Jean-Baptiste] to which, in the aftermath of the great Montreal fire of 1852, workmen, craftsmen, and speculators had flocked, looking for cheap lots and lodgings With its wooden houses and lack of the most elementary public services, the village was a shabby place, its air polluted by dust from the lanes, by open sewers, and by smoke from limekilns. But Villeneuve foresaw that it would have a great future, even though the absence of a river or railway scarcely augured well for its industrial development.7

Although Saint-Jean-Baptiste did not have the resources to become a centre of the industrial revolution—unlike the Lachine Canal area of that time—Villeneuve was right to focus on its development as a residential suburb. As a transportation entrepreneur, he understood that the arrival of the streetcar would make access to the Plateau easier for the thousands of rural workers attracted by employment in the new factories and needing housing. The Mile End crossroad could become more than just a stop for travellers—such as farmers selling their products in the city—or a place of leisure for workers from the surrounding quarries. It could become the linchpin of a new municipality. When he became mayor in 1866, Saint-Jean Baptiste, which had separated from Côte Saint-Louis in 1861, was already a village over 4000 inhabitants. Joseph-Octave Villeneuve continued as mayor until annexation to Montreal in 1886. By then, the village, by then a town, had more than 15,000 residents.8

Period advertisement for the Villeneuve omnibus (McCord Museum).

Period advertisement for the Villeneuve omnibus (McCord Museum).

In 1869, Villeneuve sold his transportation company for $400 to businessmen who wanted to extend the rails of the Montreal City Passenger Railway Company’s horse tramway northward. This did not stop him from starting up a new transportation company the following year, the Terrebonne and Back River Omnibuses. Villeneuve reinvested a portion of the profits from his business in the purchase of landholdings along Saint-Laurent Street. According to Bell Canada archives, until 1882, “J.O. Villeneuve grocer”, was the telephone customer in the entire district”.9 His business sense did not stop there: in 1875, he joined his cousin, Leonidas, to launch a construction materials company, which provided the area with everything needed for urban development:  wood, sawing, tar, gravel, etc.

Léonidas Villeneuve, wood merchant, entrepreneur and Mayor

Léonidas (1849-1913) was, in fact, as active as his cousin. They apparently divided the area into two. One took care of Saint-Jean-Baptiste, the other, Saint-Louis du Mile End. Born in Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines in Terrebonne County like his cousin, Léonidas was a farmer’s son and poorly educated. But wood selling seemed to be in his blood. His older cousin—already an established merchant and politician—gave him a boost when they became partners. One had a network of contacts in the political and commercial establishment of the time, the other opened a new sphere of activity and add new territory to the family empire.

Léonidas Villeneuve (Montreal Old and New)

Léonidas Villeneuve (Montreal Old and New)

Although mayor of Saint-Jean Baptiste, Villeneuve still supported Louis Beaubien during the 1875 provincial election campaign. Beaubien was criticized  for reneging on his promise when he located the train station in the middle of his holdings instead of further south in the village of Saint-Jean Baptiste.10 This support had all the appearances of being a close political and commercial alliance. Political, first of all, because the three men were part of the ultramontane wing of the Conservative Party. In fact, Joseph-Octave Villeneuve succeeded Louis Beaubien as representative of Hochelaga in the provincial legislature, when Beaubien left politics in 1886.11 Commercial, because the opening of Mile End Station in 1876 allowed for northward expansion of the two cousins’ various businesses.

In 1878, Leonidas Villeneuve & Co, Dealers in Lumber opened a large lumber yard located at 2 Saint-Laurent—just behind Mile End Tavern—on land leased from the Bagg family.12 Consequently, the Villeneuve cousin’s business became the prime destination for wood transported by the railway created through the efforts of Louis Beaubien! They held a prominent location in Saint-Louis du Mile End the very year that village separated from Côte Saint-Louis. The opening of a permanent station led to larger commercial operations in the area. Firewood undoubtedly was delivered, but construction wood needed for urbanization of Plateau Mont-Royal was more important. The company was strategically located between the new station, untouched land further north, and the burgeoning district to the south. At its peak, in addition to its Montreal operation, L. Villeneuve and Co. owned in woodlots in the Laurentians and a sawmill at Saint-Jérôme.13

Léonidas used the same strategy as Joseph-Octave and became involved in the new town’s politics: he was elected councillor or mayor of Saint-Louis du Mile End for almost the entire period between 1883 and 1900.14 But this did not prevent his company from benefiting from receiving contracts from the town. To provide only one example, L. Villeneuve and Co supplied materials for construction of the sewers of Saint-Louis du Mile End.15

Moreover, two contemporary biographers of Léonidas Villeneuve pointed out that he invested the profits of his companies to purchase land in the village even before the start of the urban boom:

    [The profit derived from L. Villeneuve & Co] brought him substantial returns and his fortune also arose through his wise investments in real estate. From time to time he added to his holdings, and when there was a real estate boom in the district, he had extensive holding, a portion of which he sold, realizing therefrom a handsome fortune.

Mr. Villeneuve had purchased a large amount of real estate and when the realty opened in the Mile End district twenty years ago, it found him one of the heaviest land owners, and the rapid increase in values brought him a large fortune.16

But, above all, Leonidas Villeneuve was mayor of Saint-Louis du Mile End when it began the transition from a small village to an urban suburb. This is what we will examine in the next chapter.

Ad for «Léonidas Villeneuve & Cie» (La Patrie, mai 1909)

Ad for «Léonidas Villeneuve & Cie» (La Patrie, mai 1909)

 

 

Notes:
1. Censuses of Canada, cited by Paul-André Linteau, Histoire de Montréal depuis la Confédération, Boréal 1992, pp. 85 and 194.
2. Paul-André Linteau, Maisonneuve, op. cit., p.38
3. That was the name (in French, Côte Sainte-Catherine) then given to Mount Royal Avenue west of Saint-Laurent.
4. BAnQ, Greffe du notaire Adolphe Montreuil, July 12, 1856, 297-4108. Transcribed by Sherry Olson.
5. Idem, September 8, 1856, 297-4124.
6. Robert Rumily, Histoire de Montréal, op. cit., p. 160.
7. Michèle Brassard and Jean Hamelin, “Joseph-Octave Villeneuve”, Dictionary of Canadian Biography: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/villeneuve_joseph_octave_13E.html
8. Paul-André Linteau, Histoire de Montréal depuis la Confédération, op. cit., p. 82.
9.  Christopher Schoofs, Notes pour une histoire du Mile End, Société Mile End pour l’histoire et la culture, 1995, p. 21 (unpublished manuscript)
10. Cf. previous chapter.
11. Joseph-Octave Villeneuve was also warden of Hochelaga County from 1866 to 1880, and Mayor of Montreal between 1894 and 1896.
12. Over the next few years, Léonidas Villeneuve was to buy many lots in the area, and build his own residence at the corner of what are now Clark and Villeneuve streets, the latter named in his honour.
13. In 1907, the company moved to the corner of Bellechasse and Saint-Laurent, where it still exists.
14. Alderman in 1883, 1884, from 1887 to 1889 and in 1893. Mayor from 1890 to 1892, in 1895, and from 1898 to 1900.
15. Archives de la ville de Montréal., Fonds de la municipalité de ville de Saint-Louis, «Correspondance de l’ingénieur», P28/F3, from November 1890 to December 1893.
16. William H Atherton, Montreal 1535-1914, JS Clark Publishing Co, 1914, volume 3, p.8, and Lorenzo Prince et al. Montreal Old and New, International Press Syndicate, 1915, p. 191.

Chapitre 5, Le Plateau des villages et les cousins Villeneuve


La période 1880-1910 amorce une mutation décisive du Mile End : les villas, fermes et résidences d’artisans vivant à proximité de leur lieu de travail cèdent leur place à une nouvelle ville – le village obtient le statut ville en 1895 – qui devient quartier de Montréal le premier janvier 1910.  En 1881, trois ans après l’incorporation du village, Saint-Louis ne compte encore que 1,537 habitants : après c’est l’explosion.  Sa population passe de 3,500 habitants en 1891 à près de 11,000 en 1901 et à 37,000 en 1911, ce qui en fait la banlieue dont la croissance est la plus rapide sur toute l’île de Montréal.1

Un troisième ingrédient, après l’église et la gare, contribue de façon décisive à cette expansion : la révolution industrielle, non seulement en raison de ses énormes besoins de main d’œuvre, mais aussi parce qu’elle favorise l’émergence d’une nouvelle classe moyenne, celle des ouvriers qualifiés et des cols blancs. Cette population alors en pleine ascension sociale sera la cible de choix des promoteurs des nouvelles banlieues.  Mais pour faire «prendre la mayonnaise», un liant est indispensable, et ce sera le développement des transports collectifs, incarné par le tramway électrique : son arrivée donne aux spéculateurs fonciers le signal que les temps sont mûrs pour créer de nouveaux quartiers.  Et, dans le cas du Plateau-Mont-Royal – comme on le verra dans les prochains chapitres – le tramway électrique est une condition d’autant plus indispensable à son urbanisation, qu’il y a un obstacle géographique de taille à franchir, celui de la côte entre les rues Ontario et Sherbrooke.

Pour décrire cette période d’urbanisation accélérée – particulièrement entre 1880 et 1910 –  les historiens et les géographes parlent de la transition entre la ville piétonnière («walking city») et les banlieues de tramway («streetcar suburbs»). Cette transformation de l’espace urbain implique l’entrée en scène d’une nouvelle génération de promoteurs,  joueurs de  premier plan dans l’aménagement de l’espace, comme l’a si bien montré Paul-André Linteau dans son étude sur Maisonneuve.  Homme d’action, souvent à la fois spéculateur, grand propriétaire, entrepreneur et politicien, ce type de promoteur veut créer de toute pièce une ville à l’image de ses ambitions :

     À l’inverse du spéculateur pur,  il ne se contente pas d’attendre la hausse de la valeur du terrain, il la provoque en contribuant à modifier le cadre dans lequel s’insère sa propriété. (…)

 L’action du promoteur consiste à mettre en valeur un site. Un facteur primordial est l’accessibilité. Celle-ci est parfois naturelle mais le plus souvent il faut la créer. Le rôle des transports est ici crucial : le chemin de fer, le tramway, sont essentiels à la réussite des projets du promoteur. (…) Dans ces circonstances, on ne s’étonne guère des liens qui unissent promoteurs et entreprises de transport en commun.2

 Joseph-Octave Villeneuve, épicier, entrepreneur et maire

Dans le cas des villages de Saint-Jean Baptiste et de Saint-Louis du Mile End, deux cousins jouent un rôle clef : Joseph-Octave et Léonidas Villeneuve seront littéralement les «parrains» de ces communautés.  Joseph-Octave, l’aîné (1836-1901), est le plus connu : archétype du «self-made-man» à l’américaine, il a peu d’instruction mais commence très jeune dans le commerce au détail.  Le 12 juillet 1856, Stanley Clark Bagg lui loue l’auberge du Mile End, situé sur le chemin Sainte-Catherine3 au coin nord-ouest de Saint-Laurent.  Joseph-Octave Villeneuve, qui n’a que 20 ans, s’engage en retour à lui verser la somme de 50 livres par année, ainsi que 4 livres, 3 shillings et 4 pennies par mois, «à réparer le jeu de quilles et à faire poser deux tables de jeux neuves».  La bâtisse est décrite comme une maison en pierre de deux étages avec écurie, remises et 2 jardins.4

L’automne suivant, le 8 septembre, Stanley Clark Bagg loue pour 5 ans à Joseph-Octave un lot d’un arpent avec front sur la rue Saint-Laurent  juste en face de l’auberge, au coin sud-ouest de Mont-Royal.  En échange, ce dernier s’engage à y construire un édifice de 32 pieds de façade et de 18 pieds de profondeur. Ce doit être un «bon bâtiment» qui servira «d’étaux de bouchers ou de magasins de grains et dont il aura la jouissance».  Le bail prévoit que Stanley Clark Bagg pourra reprendre possession de tous ces bâtiments si Joseph-Octave venait à manquer à ses obligations.5  Stanley Clark Bagg n’avait pas à s’inquiéter, car l’entreprise de Villeneuve devient un commerce prospère :

      J.-Octave Villeneuve a commencé comme «épicier du coin» et patiemment grossi son affaire, devenue la firme J.-O. Villeneuve et Cie, épicerie en gros. Entendons-nous. L’épicerie en gros ne vend pas seulement aux détaillants. Elle est accessible aux familles nombreuses, qui se rassemblent au besoin à deux ou trois et qui achètent leurs provisions à la poche ou à la caisse. L’épicerie en gros est un magasin de père de famille.6

Joseph-Octave Villeneuve

Joseph-Octave Villeneuve

En 1860, Joseph-Octave se lance aussi dans les transports en créant la «Mile-End omnibuses», navette entre Terrebonne  – le village d’origine de sa famille – et Saint-Jean Baptiste favorisant ainsi les liens commerciaux entre ces régions. Toutes ces initiatives visent à renforcer le caractère de carrefour stratégique de l’intersection Saint-Laurent/Mont-Royal. Mais, comme le soulignent ses biographes, c’était alors un véritable pari :

     Villeneuve a établi son commerce au cœur du village de Saint-Jean-Baptiste où, à la suite du grand incendie de 1852 à Montréal, affluent ouvriers, artisans et spéculateurs en quête de terrains et de logements bon marché. Ce village aux maisons de bois, dépourvu des services publics minimaux, dont l’air est pollué par la poussière des ruelles, les égouts à ciel ouvert et la fumée des fours à chaux, a piètre allure; mais Villeneuve devine qu’il est promis à un grand avenir, même si l’absence d’un cours d’eau ou d’une voie ferrée ne favorise guère son développement industriel.7

Publicité pour les ominbus Villeneuve (Musée McCord)

Publicité pour les ominbus Villeneuve (Musée McCord)

Saint-Jean Baptiste n’a peut-être pas les ressources pour être au cœur de la révolution industrielle – comme les environs du canal Lachine à la même époque – mais Villeneuve a raison de miser sur le développement de sa vocation de banlieue résidentielle. Parce qu’il est entrepreneur dans les transports, il a compris que l’arrivée du tramway rendra l’accès au Plateau plus facile aux milliers d’ouvriers venus des campagnes attirés par les nouvelles manufactures et qui sont à la recherche de logements : le carrefour du Mile End ne sera plus qu’un point d’arrêt pour des voyageurs de passage – comme les fermiers qui vont vendre leur produits en ville –  ou un lieu de détente pour les travailleurs des carrières environnantes, mais le point d’ancrage d’une nouvelle municipalité. Lorsqu’il en devient maire en 1866, Saint-Jean Baptiste  – qui s’est détaché de Côte Saint-Louis en 1861 – est déjà un village de plus de 4000 habitants.  Joseph-Octave Villeneuve conservera ce poste jusqu’à l’annexion à Montréal en 1886; le village, devenu ville entretemps, compte alors plus de 15,000 résidents.8

En 1869, Villeneuve vend pour 400 $ sa compagnie de transport à des hommes d’affaires qui veulent prolonger vers le nord les rails du tramway hippomobile de la «Montreal City Passenger Railway Company».  Ce qui ne l’empêche pas de mettre sur pied une nouvelle compagnie de transport dès l’année suivante, la «Terrebonne and Back River Omnibuses».9 Villeneuve réinvestit une partie des bénéfices qu’il retire de son commerce dans  l’achat de propriétés foncières tout au long de la rue Saint-Laurent.

Les archives de Bell indiquent aussi qu’en 1882, «J.O. Villeneuve épicier», est le premier à posséder un téléphone dans tout le secteur.10  Son sens des affaires ne s’arrête pas là : en 1875, il s’associe à son cousin, Léonidas, pour lancer une entreprise de matériaux de construction, qui fournit au secteur tout ce qui est nécessaire à son développement : bois, goudron, gravier, scierie, etc.

Léonidas Villeneuve, marchand de bois, entrepreneur et maire

Car Léonidas (1849 -1913) n’est pas en reste avec son cousin : ils se sont en quelque sorte divisés le territoire; Saint-Jean- Baptiste pour l’un, Saint-Louis du Mile End pour l’autre. Né à Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, dans le comté de Terrebonne comme son cousin, il est fils de cultivateur et peu instruit, sauf qu’il a le commerce du bois dans le sang. Son aîné – déjà commerçant et politicien établi – lui donne un coup de pouce lorsqu’ils deviennent partenaires : l’un dispose d’un réseau de contacts dans l’establishment  politique et commercial du temps, l’autre ouvre une nouvelle sphère d’activité et un nouveau territoire à l’empire familial.

Léonidas Villeneuve (Montreal Old and New)

Léonidas Villeneuve (Montreal Old and New)

Même s’il est maire de Saint-Jean Baptiste, Villeneuve a quand même appuyé Louis Beaubien lors de la campagne électorale de 1875. On accusait pourtant Beaubien d’avoir implanté la gare au beau milieu de ses terres, situées plus au nord, plutôt qu’au village de Saint-Jean Baptiste, comme il l’avait d’abord promis.11 Cet appui revêt toutes les apparences d’une étroite alliance politique et commerciale.  Politique d’abord, parce que les trois hommes font partie de l’aile ultramontaine du parti conservateur : c’est d’ailleurs Joseph-Octave Villeneuve qui succède à Louis Beaubien comme député d’Hochelaga au parlement provincial, lorsque ce dernier quitte la vie politique en 1886.12  Commerciale ensuite, puisque l’ouverture de la gare du Mile End, en 1876, favorise l’expansion vers le nord des entreprises des deux cousins.

«Leonidas Villeneuve & Co, Dealers in Lumber» ouvre en 1878 les portes d’une vaste cour à bois située au 2, rue Saint-Laurent – juste à l’arrière de l’auberge du Mile End – sur des terrains loués à la famille Bagg.13 L’entreprise des cousins Villeneuve devient ainsi la destination privilégiée du bois acheminé par le chemin de fer créé grâce aux efforts de  Louis Beaubien ! Ils ont pignon sur rue à Saint-Louis du Mile End l’année même où le village se sépare de Côte Saint-Louis et où l’ouverture d’une gare permanente permet des opérations commerciales plus importantes dans les environs. Bois de chauffage sans doute, mais surtout tout le bois de construction nécessaire à l’urbanisation du Plateau Mont-Royal : l’entreprise est stratégiquement située entre la nouvelle gare, les terrains encore vierges du nord et le secteur en plein développement plus au sud.  Au plus fort de son activité,  L. Villeneuve et Cie possèdera, en plus du commerce montréalais, des terres à bois dans les Laurentides et une scierie à Saint-Jérôme.14

Léonidas utilise la même stratégie que Joseph-Octave et s’implique à fond dans la politique de la nouvelle municipalité : il se fait élire conseiller ou maire de Saint-Louis du Mile End pendant presque toute la période comprise entre 1883 et 1900.15 Ce qui n’empêche pas son entreprise de bénéficier des contrats de la municipalité : pour ne donner qu’un seul exemple, L. Villeneuve et Cie sera un fournisseur de matériaux pour la construction des égouts de Saint-Louis du Mile End[.16 Deux biographes contemporains de Léonidas Villeneuve soulignent d’ailleurs qu’il réinvestissait les profits de ses entreprises dans l’achat de terrains sur le territoire du village avant même le début du boom urbain :

     [Les profits tirés de L. Villeneuve et Cie…] brought him substantial returns and his fortune also arose through his wise investments in real estate. From time to time he added to his holdings, and when there was a real estate boom in the district, he had extensive holding, a portion of which he sold, realizing therefrom a handsome fortune.

 »Mr. Villeneuve had purchased a large amount of real estate and when the realty opened in the Mile End district twenty years ago, it found him one of the heaviest land owners, and the rapid increase in values brought him a large fortune.17

Mais, surtout, Léonidas Villeneuve fut maire de Saint-Louis du Mile End au moment où le territoire amorce la mutation qui transformera le village d’artisans en banlieue urbaine. C’est ce que nous examinerons dans le prochain chapitre.

Publicité de «Léonidas Villeneuve & Cie» (La Patrie, mai 1909)

Publicité de «Léonidas Villeneuve & Cie» (La Patrie, mai 1909)

 

 

Notes:
1. Recensements du Canada, cités par Paul-André Linteau, Histoire de Montréal depuis la Confédération, Boréal 1992, p. 85 et 194.
2. Paul-André Linteau, Maisonneuveop cit, p.38.
3. C’est le nom que porte alors l’avenue Mont-Royal, à l’ouest de Saint-Laurent.
4. BAnQ, Greffe du notaire Adolphe Montreuil, 12 juillet 1856, 297-4108. (Transcription de Sherry Olson.)
5. Idem, 8 septembre 1856, 297-4124.
6. Robert Rumily, Histoire de Montréal, tome 3, p. 160.
7. Michèle Brassard et Jean Hamelin, «Joseph-Octave Villeneuve», Dictionnaire biographique du Canada : http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/villeneuve_joseph_octave_13F.html.
8. Paul-André Linteau, Histoire de Montréal depuis la Confédération, op. cit. p. 82.
9. Ibid.
10. Christopher Schoofs, Notes pour une histoire du Mile End, Manuscrit non-publié, 1995, p. 21.
11. Cf. Chapitre précédent.
12. Joseph-Octave Villeneuve fut également préfet de la municipalité de comté d’Hochelaga de 1866 à 1880 et maire de Montréal entre 1894 et 1896.
13. Léonidas Villeneuve achètera au cours des années suivantes de nombreux lots dans les environs, et construira sa propre résidence à l’angle des actuelles rues Clark et Villeneuve, ainsi nommée en son honneur.
14. L’entreprise déménage en 1907 au coin de Bellechasse et Saint-Laurent, où elle existe toujours.
15. Échevin en 1883,1884, de 1887 à 1889 et en 1893. Maire de 1890 à 1892, en 1895 et de 1898 à 1900.
16. AVM, Fonds de la municipalité de ville de Saint-Louis, «Correspondance de l’ingénieur», P28/F3, de novembre 1890 à décembre 1893.
17. William H Atherton, Montreal 1535-1914, JS Clark Publishing Co, 1914, tome 3, p.8, et Lorenzo Prince et al. Montreal Old and New, International Press Syndicate, 1915, p. 191. («Sa fortune a également augmenté grâce à ses sages investissements immobiliers. De temps à autre, il ajoutait à ses avoirs, et quand survint le boom immobilier dans son quartier, il y détenait de larges propriétés qu’il vendit en partie, réalisant ainsi une belle fortune.» «M. Villeneuve avait acheté une grande quantité de terrains et, quand le marché s’ouvrit dans le Mile End il y a 20 ans, il y était l’un des principaux propriétaires fonciers. La rapide augmentation des valeurs lui apporta une importante fortune.» -Ma traduction.)